A community of technology community managers, leaders, and builders.

The problem(s) with email lists (and how I'm helping solve them)

@jonobacon asked me to expand on this bit of discussion from Use of Discourse for the Community, and share what my partner and I are up to with GroupBuzz.

Hopefully, this is a bit more of a personal story about problems that you can relate to, vs. a sales pitch for GroupBuzz.

Quickly, I’m new to the CLS community, and I’ve been following along here since Jono first announced this forum. I’ve been enjoying following along with the discussions here so far, and I’m psyched for my first CLS in a couple of weeks. :smile: You can find out a bit more about me from my intro, here.

While I have a background in technology and web development, my career took a shift when I started getting involved in coworking, and the related elements of community building. Unlike many coworking spaces - who lease some commercial space, set up desks, and start charging for monthly memberships - Indy Hall started in 2006 from my own personal efforts to build a community of creative professionals in Philadelphia, something that we were lacking pretty severely in 2005/06. We built a club before we built a clubhouse, and that action (and mindset) has proven even more valuable as we’ve grown.

We used an email discussion list - Google Groups at the time - so that our “club” could talk in between meetups and gatherings, to let each other know about things going on, to ask questions and help each other out. Google Groups was pretty confusing for less technical people, and the fact that it required a Google address was a a non-starter for some people in our community. At the time, Google Groups was also having major issues with spam, and we were forced to make the decision to manually moderate every message on our list in order to keep the spam out.